Chicken Tinola

It is insane that no matter how common the dish is, we haven’t made it at home. Chicken Tinola is one of those dishes. I don’t have any memory of having this dish at home.

Chicken Tinola is a common dish in the Philippines, if not popular, in which the soup is ginger and onion based. The chicken is simmered in about forty five minutes to one hour so the soup will be very rich in chicken flavor and the chicken meat will be tender. The dish is traditionally cooked with green papayas, but chayote can be used as well. As for the green leaves, chili leaves or spinach can be used.

Chicken Tinola - TheNotSoCreativeCook

There are recipes that fish sauce is added while cooking, but there are eaters who have a strong aversion to fish sauce. In that case, fish sauce can be set aside and use salt instead. For those who likes fish sauce, a tiny splash on your bowl before you dig in would be perfect.

Chicken Tinola

Ingredients
  • 500g chicken, cut into pieces
  • 500ml rice washing
  • 1 cup chayote, sliced
  • 1/2 tbsp garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup onion, chopped
  • 1 thumb ginger, cut into strips
  • 1 tbsp fish sauce
  • Water spinach/moringa leaves/chili leaves
Instructions:
  1. In a pot with medium heat, add oil. Sauté garlic, onion and ginger until fragrant.
  2. Add in chicken pieces and cook until color turns light brown.
  3. Add fish sauce.
  4. Pour in rice washing. Simmer for 45 minutes in low-medium heat.
  5. Add in chayote and simmer again for 5 minutes.
  6. Add the leaves of your choice.
  7. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  8. Serve hot with warm rice.

Source recipe: Chicken Tinola by Panlasang Pinoy

Notes:

You can also add 1 piece chicken cube if you prefer. 

If you dislike fish sauce, you can omit it. But it makes the dish even better. 😉 

 

This can be served as soup alone. But for us, Filipinos, we always serve this warm with good cup of white rice. 😀

Chicken Tinola - TheNotSoCreativeCook 2

 

 

Wishing you a day full of smiles! 😀 😀 😀

name2

twitter pinterest instagram googleplus facebook

I hope my friends at Fiesta Friday #105 will love this . I hope Angie and the co-hosts, Lily and Chef Julianna, will love this, too. 🙂

I am also bringing this dish at

43 thoughts on “Chicken Tinola

  1. February 9, 2016 at 2:42 PM

    This is so awesome! Pinned and tweeted. Thanks for sharing this at our party! I always love your amazing creations. I hope to see you next Monday because we love to party with you! Happy Wenesday! Lou Lou Girls

  2. I’m actually starting to feel a cold coming, Jhuls. Maybe I stayed up too late last night. This soup would have been perfect tonight. We got Chinese takeout instead, wonton soup for me. Not bad, but this gingery soup would have been better.

    1. The wonton soup sounds lovely, too. And I know what you mean by the gingery soup being better than that. Be safe, Angie. And thanks for stopping by. x

    1. I wish I could tell you more, Loretta, but I also don’t know much about our culture. 😀 When I dig up something interesting, I am sure I’d be happy to share it. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by. x

    1. I don’t even know what the Tinola word means. Haha! I wish I could give you a little history, but I can’t dig up some. Anyway, thanks for stopping by, Julie. x

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

