Steak with Gochujang Sauce

Marinated steak with sweet, spicy and tangy gochujang sauce. Perfectly paired with corn on the cob and white rice. 

steak-with-gochujang-sauce-tnscc1

Steak…

It’s one of the things I am afraid to cook. I am very impatient and I can’t help myself not to check the bottom side if it’s cooked or not. That’s also one of the reasons why I HATE FRYING. I think the only thing I can wait until it’s perfectly done is sunny side up egg. 😀

steak-with-gochujang-sauce-tnscc2

Since the day I decided that my gochujang need to be used, I searched for recipes and one of the recipes I found was this one. Unfortunately, I don’t use mirin and sake, so made adjustments. I told the butcher that I want beef for my steak and he gave me the chuck part. Since it was my first time cooking a steak, instead of medium, I got well done. Oh, well… I might be better next time.

Overall, this steak with the gochujang sauce was incredible – sweet, spicy, tangy. I was also craving for corn that time so I paired it with corn on the cob and of course, a cup of white rice. They were perfect all together!

steak-with-gochujang-sauce-tnscc3

Now, I am off to Angie’s Fiesta Friday #158 to share this lovely stuff! Thanks to Ai and Petra for co-hosting this week’s amazing party. And of course, a huge thanks to Angie, too. Happy Fiesta Friday, beautiful people!

Steak with Gochujang Sauce

Ingredients

  • 600g beef chuck, sliced into 3/4 thickness
  • 8 cloves garlic, sliced
  • 2 tbsp ginger, sliced
  • 6 tbsp water
  • 150ml rice vinegar
  • 4 tsp white sugar
  • ½  cup gochujang
  • ¼ cup vegetable oil
  • Spring onions (optional)

Instructions:

  1. In a blender, place all ingredients except beef, spring onions and cornstarch. (You can do a taste test if you want and adjust accordingly.)
  2. Place beef in a ziplock bag or container. Pour some of the marinade enough to coat the beef. Keep in the fridge at least two hours or overnight. Reserve the remaining marinade and keep in the fridge.
  3. When ready to grill: take out the beef from the fridge and bring to room temperature.
  4. Using a pan, electric grill or over a charcoal, grill until desired doneness, basting both sides with the remaining marinade. (See this video on how to know the doneness of your beef)
  5. Remove steak from the grill and transfer to a plate. Let the steak rest at least 5 minutes before cutting.
  6. While waiting the steak to rest, place the remaining marinade to a small sauce pan and add about ½ tbsp cornstarch and simmer until a bit thick.
  7. Pour the sauce over the steak. Serve and enjoy!

steak-with-gochujang-sauce-tnscc4

Wishing you all a fabulous weekend!

name2

twitter pinterest instagram

I am also sharing this lovely dish at

Please follow and like us:

37 Comments

Thanks for stopping by! I'd love to hear from you... :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)