{Whole30} Coconut Lime Chicken

A skillet chicken dish with wonderful flavors of coconut, lime and coriander. So tasty and healthy! 

coconut-lime-chicken-tnscc-3

For me, starting the Whole-30 program was never easy. I was used to eating rice and bread everyday. I eat chocolate everyday and drink sugary drinks almost everyday. “How in the world would I survive this program?” – I asked myself.

Meal planning: Meal planning is the first step I did. Although I always plan what meals to prepare for a week or two, planning whole-30 compliant dishes was not easy at first. There are many things to consider like there should’t be anything dairy, any form of sugar, sugar, legumes, etc. So I carefully searched for recipes that are whole-30 compliant and Pinterest helped me a lot.

Certified total spender: During the whole-30 program, you will spend money way too much, at least that’s what happened to me. As I am following what’s in the whole-30 compliant recipe, I feel the need to follow what’s in the list of ingredients. Before the program, I could just settle for a whole chicken and cook whatever my tummy feels to eat regardless of the ingredients I’ll cook with it.

I used my pans, pots and oven way too much. Since I cannot consume what’s inside the fridge or anything I wanted to eat like before, I had to cook more. I spent a lot of time in the kitchen more than the usual. I had printed recipes taped to the cupboards like I was going to take a bar exam.

Hungry, but not HANGRY. Of course, I felt hungry, but not to the point that  I get furious when I cannot eat this or that. As far as I can remember, no serious cravings. The only thing I craved for are potatoes, spinach and eggs. No chocolate – hooray!

Read labels. I always read food labels when I want to buy something I am not sure about. When I have a doubt, I put it back on the shelf and think of an alternative, if there is. If not, I leave the store, but not with a heavy heart.

I kinda love Whole-30 compliant dishes. I quite enjoyed browsing Pinterest for whole-30 compliant dishes. I have tried some of the recipes on my Pinterest board and they were absolutely delicious! And of of them is my version of this coconut lime chicken.

coconut-lime-chicken-tnscc-4

This is a one-pan chicken dish that’s full of flavorful stuff like coconut, lime and coriander. This is exceptionally good. The combination of the flavors is so perfect. I am sure addition of baby spinach would be great as well. I would love to make this again. Hmm, by the weekend? 😛

The chicken can be shredded and turned into a soup. Get that bowl of yours and place a serving, top with more coriander and squeeze of lime juice. I made that version as well and it was fantastic. At first, I served this first with my cauliflower rice – oh, it was the best! The second day, I turned this dish into a soup. I am more convinced now that healthy dishes are delicious, too. 😉

coconut-lime-chicken-tnscc-2

I hope you all love this one as I am also taking this delicious dish at Fiesta Friday #161, co-hosted by Laura. Thanks, Angie and Laura. <3

Coconut Lime Chicken

Ingredients: coconut-lime-chicken-tnscc-3

  • 3-4 boneless and skinless tender chicken breasts
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup onion, chopped
  • 1 red chili, sliced
  • 2 tbsp freshly squeezed lime juice
  • 1/2 cup chicken stock, homemade or organic
  • 2 tbsp fresh coriander leaves, roughly chopped (more to garnish)
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 tbsp arrowroot* starch dissolved in 1 tbsp water

Instructions:

  1. Sprinkle each chicken breasts with salt and pepper.
  2. In large skillet or deep pan with medium-high heat, add coconut oil.
  3. Add in chicken breasts and cook for about 5 minutes each side or until brown in color.
  4. Remove the chicken and transfer into a plate.
  5. Add in onion and cook until translucent.
  6. Add in red chili and cook for another minute.
  7. Add in lime juice, chicken stock and coriander. Reduce heat and simmer for 5 minutes.
  8. Add in coconut milk and chicken. Simmer again for about 10 minutes.
  9. Add in arrowroot starch and water mixture. Set the fire to high and once boiling, reduce the heat again to low. Cook until sauce is a little thick or for 5 minutes.
  10. Turn off the heat and garnish with more chopped coriander and/or sliced red chili.

Notes: 

*If not in Whole 30 program, cornstarch can be used instead of arrowroot 

I used homemade chicken broth 

Source recipe: Coconut Lime Chicken by A Saucy Kitchen

coconut-lime-chicken-tnscc-1

name2

twitter pinterest instagram

Also sharing at

Please follow and like us:

28 Comments

Thanks for stopping by! I'd love to hear from you... :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)