{Whole30} Potato Hash with Harissa-Tahini Sauce

A nice twist on potato hash with a bit of kick from harissa-tahini sauce. A one-skillet dish that’s ready in 30 minutes. Healthy and a whole-30 compliant meal.

potato-hash-with-harissa-tahini-sauce-tnscc2

Yes, I still have more to share about my whole-30 experience. 😀

Whole-30 program is not a weight-loss program. At least that’s what I’ve read. It’s more like of a clean-eating program. Some results didn’t lead to losing weight and some lost much.

In my case, I lost 13 lbs. I felt amazing, not only because of losing weight, but because I’ve proven myself that I can take a break or ditch those naughty foods. It felt great that I didn’t feel the “need” to eat ice cream or brownies.  I feel great and lighter. During the program, I didn’t feel bloated at all. I slept more soundly, but I still feel sleepy at work, though. I think it’s a normal thing for me. 😀

potato-hash-with-harissa-tahini-sauce-tnscc1

I was surprised by how I felt satisfied with meals like this and not to look for any other foods like burgers, pasta or rice. I have to say I had best friends during these times – potatoes, eggs, spinach and tahini. So expect more recipes with tahini sauce. 😉

This recipe is super easy. I microwaved the diced potatoes while preparing other ingredients so they will be cooked faster when they join the lovely onions and bellpeppers. I also added chopped rotisserie chicken as I had it as leftover from a previous whole-30 meal. The combination of the spices is superb. I must say that I always use that mix of spices in most of my whole-30 meals.

potato-hash-with-harissa-tahini-sauce-tnscc3

The addition of the tahini sauce? Brilliant!  I just added store-bought harissa to my tahini sauce recipe – it was amazing! I think I put too many sauce, you see. There’s no such thing as too many tahini, yes? 😀 That alone sounds really delicious, but I just couldn’t let this meal pass without sunny side up egg on top! This meal is really satisfying. I made this dish over and over again. It’s like this is my go-to whole-30 meal.

potato-hash-with-harissa-tahini-sauce-tnscc5

I really enjoyed this meal a LOT. I am taking this with me at this week’s Fiesta Friday #162. This week’s party will be co-hosted by Sarah @ Tales from Kitchen Shed and Liz @ Spades, Spatulas and Spoons. Thanks to both of you and of course, to our amazing host, Angie. <3 Happy Fiesta Friday!!

Potato Hash with Harissa-Tahini Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups potatoes, diced
  • water, to boil potatoes
  • salt, to boil potatoes
  • 2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • ½ cup onion, sliced
  • ¼ cup red bellpepper, chopped
  • ¼ cup orange bellpepper, chopped
  • ¼ cup yellow bellpepper, chopped
  • 1 cup rotisserie chicken, shredded or chopped (optional)
  • 1 ½ tsp cumin powder
  • 1 ½ tsp onion powder
  • 1 ½ tsp garlic powder
  • 1 ½ tsp hot smoked paprika
  • 4 handfuls of baby spinach, washed
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Sunny side up eggs, to serve
  • Harissa-tahini sauce (recipe below, optional)

Instructions:

  1. In a large heatproof bowl, place diced potatoes. Add enough water to cover potatoes and salt.
  2. Microwave on high for 5 minutes or until potatoes are tender. You can also boil the potatoes over a stove until tender.
  3. When potatoes are done, place in a strainer to drain liquid. Set aside.
  4. In a large skillet with medium-high heat, add olive oil.
  5. Add in sliced onions and cook until a little caramelized (about 5 minutes).
  6. Add in bellpeppers and cook for 2 minutes.
  7. Add in chicken (if using) and potatoes.
  8. Add in cumin powder, onion powder, garlic powder and hot smoked paprika. Stir and cook for 2 minutes. (If you feel that the dish is a little dry for you, add more olive oil).
  9. Add salt and pepper. Adjust seasoning if necessary.
  10. Add handfuls of spinach and cook until spinach is wilted.
  11. Turn of the heat and transfer to a serving plate.
  12. Top with sunny side up egg(s) and drizzle with harissa-tahini sauce.
For the harissa-tahini sauce:
  • 1/4 cup tahini
  • 3-4 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • Warm water
  • 1 tsp harrisa paste
  • Salt, to taste
  1.  In a bowl, place tahini sauce. Start off by adding 3 tbsp lemon juice. Add water until desired consistency. Add in harissa paste (you can reduce the quantity or add more). Add salt. Do a taste test and adjust according to your preference. I love mine lemony, a little salty and not too thick and runny… and with a bit of kick from the harissa.

potato-hash-with-harissa-tahini-sauce-tnscc4

Thanks for being with me today and have a fantastic weekend to all!

name2

twitter pinterest instagram

I am also taking this lovely dish at

Please follow and like us:

55 Comments

Thanks for stopping by! I'd love to hear from you... :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)