{Whole30} Fisherman’s Eggs

This dish is packed with nutrients and quick to make. It is also delicious that you’d want the whole dish to yourself. 

Fisherman's Eggs 3

What in the world are Fisherman’s Eggs??

I don’t know. I am asking you. You tell me.

I did ask my BFF Google, but it didn’t give me much answer. Sardines cooked with lots of garlic, then onions (I cooked mine a little longer so it caramelizes a bit and it was amazing), spring onions and eggs – I am in!

Fisherman's Eggs 2I love canned sardines a lot and I love eggs (even more). So having both together in one dish a win-win situation. Also, I don’t know much recipes with sardines – this is a good way to add this recipe to my never ending list. The thing was… I overcooked the eggs AGAIN. Keep up the bad work, Jhuls. Keep multi-tasking and do not focus when you cook! 

Fisherman's Eggs 1The dish is very easy to make and doesn’t require many ingredients. It was totally filling and delicious. It is so perfect with those slices of onions that have been little caramelized. It was a perfect meal to enjoy!

Fisherman's Eggs 4

I am bringing this at Fiesta Friday #193. Thanks to our Angie and to our co-hosts this week, Suzanne and Ginger.

Whole30 Fisherman's Eggs

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans of sardines in water
  • 1 cup onions, sliced
  • 2 tbsp garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 3-4 eggs
  • 2 tbsp spring onions, sliced
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

 

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 450F.
  2. In an oven proof pan over low-medium heat, add oil.
  3. Add in sliced onions and cook until caramelized (about 10 minutes). Remove ¼ of the onions and transfer to a plate.
  4. Add in garlic and cook until fragrant.
  5. Add in sardines and loosen with a fork and season with salt and pepper.
  6. Bake for 10 minutes.
  7. Remove from the oven and crack 3-4 eggs over the sardines.
  8. Place back in the oven and bake further for about 5-8 minutes, depending on the doneness of the eggs you prefer.
  9. Remove from the oven and top with spring onions.

Source recipe: Fisherman’s Eggs by Garlic Matters

name2

twitter pinterest instagram
Also sharing at
22 thoughts on “{Whole30} Fisherman’s Eggs

  1. Delicious! I love finding new meals that include eggs, we have chickens so there are always plenty of eggs in our house. This would certainly go down a treat here! Thank you for sharing with #CookBlogShare x

  2. I’ve never had sardines but this dish looks incredible! Thanks for linking up with The Blended Blog!

  3. Oh this looks so good – what a great meal! Thanks for sharing at the What’s for dinner party! Don’t forget to visit some of the other amazing posts at the party!

  4. More eggs Jhuls – these caught my eye on Instagram. I too love canned sardines and often pair them with a great loaf of sourdough and green homemade pesto. The mini King Oscar ones are my top pick – have you tried them?

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

