{Baking Challenge} Mini Challah Rolls

Taking a risk is one of the things that I am afraid to do because there is no assurance that I will be victorious. Somehow, baking taught me so many things – being patient, thinking out of the box, going out of my comfort zones and not being afraid to try again.

After the grins and jumps that I did after the success of the first homemade pizza, I moved to a higher level. This time, it’s something that requires more kneading (if by hand). I have a hand-held mixer with a dough hook, but as a beginner in bread-making, I prefer to knead by hand. The feeling of accomplishment is quite different. You get my point?

thenotsocrativecook-Challa Rolls

I’ve been searching for bread recipes to try and there are so many amazing recipes that I couldn’t choose only one. If you are thinking that I bookmarked some recipes to add to my 5 km list, yes, you are correct. 😀 (I wish having a list of 5 km long means getting to finish 5 km by running.)

For my first homemade bread, I chose Challah Rolls. And mini ones… well, supposed to be mini ones. I just found these from Jonathan @ The Candid Appetite and I just can’t help but adore them. They are perfectly braided and beautifully browned. Who could say no?

I have said multiple times that I don’t like the smell of active dried yeast, so I used instant yeast instead. I don’t think I have divided the dough equally and braided them beautifully. Other than those, the Challah Rolls came out incredibly delicious – so soft and fluffy. I just could make them my pillow. 😀 The house smelled so good. Really, nothing beats the smell of homemade bread. It is crucial to wait for 30 minutes before eating because that’s when you will get the awesome deliciousness of the bread. These rolls are good with simply butter, or can also be enjoyed with a jam… also with Nutella, sunny side up, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs… 😀

During the first FF challenge, many awesome bloggers helped me with my yeast problems, though I want to make some shout-outs today –

Angie – I remember her telling me that Gerard @ Bread and Tortillas is pro at bread making, that he could help me.

Gerard – I did not wait for too long and Gerard emailed me explaining everything he knows and patiently answered all my questions. The most important thing that I have learned from him is ‘it is almost impossible to over knead by hand.’ And that’s what I did – I kneaded for more than 20 minutes and the texture came out really perfect.

Selma – she left me with a trick, a very good one:

“When I knead, I keep my left hand on the bottom of the dough and then pull and stretch at the top with my right hand, fold it over, give it a quarter turn and carry on. It’s all about developing the gluten strands.”

I did mine sideways – hold the dough and stretch them sideways like you are using arm equipment. And if you’d ask me if I did that for more than 20 minutes, my answer is a BIG FAT YES! 😛

Linda – she was the one who strongly encouraged me to use instant yeast. She also assisted me with all my bread-making problems and patiently answered all my questions and emails.

Also, thank you to all who left their comments on the said post and gave some ideas on yeast/breads. I appreciate everyone and this post is dedicated to all of you. <3

thenotsocrativecook-Challa Rolls2

Mini Challah Rolls

Ingredients

  • 4 1/2 tsp instant yeast
  • 1 cup warm water
  • ¼ cup granulated sugar
  • ¼ cup vegetable oil
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 3¼ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten, for egg wash
  • 2 tbsp sesame seeds (optional)

Instructions

  1. In a large bowl, combine all except the last two ingredients.
  2. Mix with wooden spoon until you get all the flour on the sides of the bowl.
  3. Transfer to your lightly floured work surface and knead by hand until smooth and elastic. (You can also do the kneading using your stand mixer with a dough attachment for 7-10 minutes or until dough is smooth and elastic.)
  4. Shape the dough into a ball and transfer it to an oiled bowl, slightly coating the dough with oil as well. Cover with plastic wrap, placing the bowl [with the dough] at a warm place (microwave oven turned off is one of the best places) and let rest for one hour or until doubled in size.
  5. Punch the dough down and let it rest again for another 45 minutes.
  6. Place the dough on a lightly floured work surface. Knead for few minutes.
  7. Cut the dough into 15 equal pieces.
  8. Covering loosely with a damp towel, work one piece at a time – roll the dough into a long rope. Twist it around and tie, tucking the ends underneath. Continue doing the same with the rest of the dough.
  9. Place the braided rolls onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Cover again with plastic wrap.
  10. While waiting, heat the oven to 350F.
  11. When the shaped doughs are ready, brush them with egg wash and sprinkle with sesame seeds.
  12. Bake for about 25-30 minutes or until golden brown. Remove from the oven and allow to cool for 30 minutes before eating.

I hope you enjoy these! I want to know your encounters with the yeast beast. Leave your comments below. 😉

Happy partying and have a wonderful weekend!!

name2

Find me on Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest, Google+ and Facebook.

I am sharing these at Fiesta Friday #63, hosted by the Amazing A.

I am also sharing these amazingly delicious bread at

FoodieFriDIY 

#SundaySweets

Bake of the Week

#CookBlogShare

Recipe of the Week

What’d You Do This Weekend?

Please follow and like us:

119 Comments

Thanks for stopping by! I'd love to hear from you... :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)